Warum Deutsch? (Why German?)

Photo by http://bestwaytolearngermanlanguage.com/It all started when I heard my boyfriend sleeptalk. I asked him to repeat what he said twice and I am pretty sure he said something in German. The next couple of weeks later, I found myself sitting in an A1 class in Goethe Institut in Makati. After passing the A1 test, I moved to Slovakia and stopped learning. So why am I re-learning this language now?

  1. German is the most spoken language in the European Union. Germany, Austria, Switzerland, collectively known as DACH, are German-speaking countries. On top of this list, there are lots of other countries with German speakers such as Belgium, Liechtenstein, some parts of Czech Republic and Slovakia, Denmark, and Poland to name a few. You might be wondering, Slovakia? What? Bratislava is an hour away from Vienna. You’ll notice that people from countries close to the border of a German-speaking country can also speak German.
  2. DACH are the best places to live. These countries have progressive economies and terrific quality of living. I find it very attractive to relocate to any of these three countries.
  3. Because it’s not as hard to learn as people think. Whenever I hear someone say German is a difficult language to learn, I can’t help but disagree. German words are easier to pronounce in comparison to French. French is too fussy for me. With German, you pronounce the words as how you see them. Moreover, since Germans are stickler for rules, the exceptions in this language are not so many. So once you learn the patterns, there’s a huge probability that you are correct. And if you are complaining about the four German cases, then you probably have not tried to learn a Slavic language, Slovak and Russian for instance have six cases, Czech has seven. I know because I tried learning Slovak and failed miserably.
  4. It is a beautiful language. Most people associate German for its history. It is not as harsh as people think. People just exaggerate. German sounds better than French (at least for me). Recall that Germany has produced plenty of great poets and writers like Goethe, Schiller, Kästner, heck the brothers Grimm sind Deutsche!
  5. It’s convenient to know how to speak German. Especially if you work for a German company or if you travel a lot in German-speaking countries. I’ve noticed that whenever I’m in Germany or Austria, locals are nicer to me when I speak to them in their native language. They tend to be more helpful and they smile more as compared to when I try to get what I need in English.

Also, wir haben das Ende erreicht. Ich hoffe, dass mein Blog für euch nicht langweilig war. Bis zum nächsten mal. Tschüs!

Leave a Reply

