The Kitchen Lately: Korean Cuisine

When the going gets tough, the tough gets cooking. And lately, I have been making Korean dishes. I am able to make these because surprisingly, Korean supermarkets exist in this tiny city. This is due to the influx of Koreans moving to Bratislava to work for Korean car makers. Because you know, Koreans gotta have their Korean food. Here are two of the dishes I made recently.

Ssamgyeopsal with ssamjang and kimchi

Ssamgyeopsal-gui (삼겹살구이) – Grilled pork barbecue
This is absolutely one of those dishes I find myself craving for (wherever I may be). Luckily, this dish isn’t very complicated to prepare as long as you have the ingredients. I think what you really need here is the ssamjang or soybean paste dipping sauce. You can either make it from scratch (see recipe here) or if you are lucky, you will find it in a Korean supermarket. Once you have the dipping sauce, all you gotta do is cook some rice and fry the thin slices of pork belly. You don’t even have to season the pork. All you need to do is fry it (you don’t need to put oil either).

Pork Bulgogi

Dwaejibulgogi (돼지불고기) – Pork Bulgogi

This is another dish that is very easy to make. I initially made this without gochujang (pepper paste) and it did taste a bit bare. If you are interested in making this dish yourself, you can find an easy to follow recipe here. What I like about this dish is that if I don’t finish it in one meal, I can always put it in the fridge and pack it for lunch during the workweek. My colleagues are always curious whenever I reheat the food in the microwave because it smells so good!

My next target is to learn how to cook Doenjang-jjigae (된장찌개) or Fermented soybean paste stew.

So there you have it. This is what has been going on over the last few weekends. I am also learning German more intensively since the year began. I will tell you about that some other time. Til next time. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Kitchen Lately: Korean Cuisine

  1. Girl, since when did you have this blog and why am I only reading it just now????! I’ve been refreshing your Medium account thinking that that was your only blog. huhuhuuu

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sorry! 😦 I post something on Medium, too. I don’t know. I’m on the fence between this and Medium. Sorry about that. :\

      Like

  2. Aw, just wanted to let you know that I miss you and your blog posts. I’m glad to see that you have this blog too. I’ve got a lot of reading/catching up to do.

    Like

    • Awww, I miss you, too. ❤ I'm going through your entries one by one. I need to catch up myself. There's nothing much on this blog btw.

      Like

Leave a Reply

