The Perks of Having an eReader

Don't get me wrong. I still like real books. The ones with pages you can
actually flip and sniff. But there are some perks to having an eReader.
  1. You get to carry more books. – Let’s start with the obvious. You don’t really have to lug around several copies of books. But why would you want to read several books at the same time? Because you have the attention span of a goldfish. (Like me. Ha!)
  2. With that said, having an eReader encourages you to read more. – I get ecstatic at the sight of titles marked as New in my reader. It makes me want to finish whatever I am reading now so I can move forward to the other new titles.
  3. You learn more words, quickly. – Highlight a word and tap Define. Boom. There goes the definition of that word. Now I can add the word cruciferous to the set of words I already know (like tuberous and legumes). Honestly, my vocabulary is just pathetic and embarrassing. I feel like I stopped learning new words after high school. Whoever invented this feature, thank you. You help me improve my ability to express myself.
  4. eBooks are cheaper than physical ones. – Recently, I spent 3,90€ on Lang Leav’s Love & Misadventure on Kobo only to find out that I didn’t like it. I like poetry but this one is not right up my alley. The actual book is 12,30€ on Amazon. I don’t feel bad spending 3,90€ at all. But had I spent more on that horrible book, I’d feel bad for having wasted money. To me, eBooks allow me to sample books. And if there’s something I really, really like (like Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore), I’d be happy to buy a physical copy so I can reread it.
  5. eReaders give you the ability to make annotations without ruining your copy. – I’m the type of person who likes to make notes whenever I read something profound, funny, or relatable. If the words speak to me, I’d like to be able to recall and ponder on it some more later. I highlight, make notes, or bookmark the page. I’d cringe if I did that in actual book.

Here are some of the books I finished, and looking forward to finish before the year ends. I’d love to know what’s on your reading list. Tell me about your bookshelf? 😉

eBooks

3 thoughts on “The Perks of Having an eReader

Leave a comment